Tuesday, July 2, 2013

Before Midnight - Written Review

Being a huge fan of 'Sunrise' and 'Sunset', both in my top 25 of all time, of course I was hyped for 'Midnight'. It was rumored as the final film of the series, which really makes me sad, I love the cheese (hehe) out of these characters, two extremely funny and charismatic characters that of course have their problems with each other, but they are two emotionally investing people who get in very realistic situations about relationships.

'Before Midnight' is not only the most raw and emotionally investing of the trilogy, but it also showcases just as much realistic relationship ups/downs as the others. This film is basically an exploration between Jesse and Celine having their problems kind of exploring one main prolem, and Richard Linklater reprises such a realistic feeling of relationships, even if I haven't really experienced anything like it explores, but it is so realistic and when I get older I could see something like how this turns out happen.

The chemistry between the two leads is even better than the others, showcasing a couple so well, each delivering off of each other so painfully realistically and emotionally, making the couple's problems so realistically as I've said so much, but the realistic depiction is the best thing about this trilogy.

The writing is soooooo good here, expecially towards the last 35 minutes, the last 35 minutes is what makes this film so painful, not in a bad way, but something kind of sad happens and you feel so bad with what is going on, just like the first two, Linklater knows how to direct a relationship.

From the tense screenplay and direction, to the painfully realistic chemistry, 'Before Midnight' ends the trilogy so well, making it my favorite film of 2013 and the only 2013 film so far this year to crack my top 50 of all time, in my eyes all three are pitch perfect films, I also think neither of the three have any problems.

Final Grade= A

Sunday, May 19, 2013

Mud Written Review

Wow, this film blew my mind in every way possible. Mud not only showcases something mattering, but it is a film that should be experienced by everyone, it has McConaughey's best peformance in his whole career, with kids that have alot of potential.
McConaughey is riveting, he is dramatic yet honestly refreshing and mindblowing. He is provided a powerful script and great actors to work with, you feel bad for what he is going through and he delivers his lines of dialogue perfectly, he knows what he wants. He is perfect here.

The two kids here who basically meet Mud and notice him, are the Q. Wallis' of boys this year, even if this won't happen, just like McConaughey, they deserve an Oscar nomination. Expecially the kid who always said "Shit" and sweared like that, the kids play their characters as likable kids.

The screenplay for the film was fantastic, also worthy of an Oscar nom. It balances everything from characters, siulations and drama very well. Alot of people said some parts of dialogue were dull and it was slow at times, I can understand that, even if I don't agree, I was never bored, matter-a-fact, I was never bored; not once. I was entertained with everything going on.

Nicholas does a fantastic job directing, the same thing with the screenplay, he knows what he wants to do with the film and he does it perfectly, he balanced everything professionally. He used a unique style with cinematography and the lines of dialogue. Everything here, is something I've honestly never seen.
The story for the film is absolutely heartbreaking yet realistic at spots, it has messages that deliver that really matter and they made me think about my life. You feel awful for these characters and what they are going through.

The characters are not only inspiring, but they are likable and very memorable. Like I said, you cared about every second. The actors also bring charm to all the characters, they play these characters very well and also bring charm!!! I actually gave a shit about these people, which honestly, this year and movies haven't had all that much.

For flaws: nothing, nothing, nothing no flaws. Mud is a perfect film in my eyes, absolutely adored this film, very much.Overall, Mud has not one flaw, just overall a fantastic film. WIth beautiful direction, cinematography, acting and music. Everything about it is just fantastic.

Final Grade: 5/5

Fast & Furious 6 Written Review

I'm sorry I haven't written in a while, but I am back with my written review of Fast & Furious 6!

Fast & Furious 6 is an extremely entertaining and fast paced sequel. It's not a dumb run of the mill action flick, it's a very well done film with awesome cars and set peices that come on screen. All of the actors do very well on screen w/ their stunts and everything they were supposed to do, even some things they did seemed impossible. Expecially Vin Diesel, he has a very hard seen in the middle of the film with Michelle Rodriguez that looked just painfull, just like that everyone had atleast 1 hard stunt. Other than stunts, the actors/actresses did a good job with their on screen chemistry with one another, and did a great job overall.

The films cinematography for the stunts and it's car chases and everything is very well done, although I think some of the car chases were host weirdly, most of them were shot fantastically. It also adds a vibe to the film's structure and content it delivers on, the cars and everything, and makes it more intergetic.

The only two people I had problems with... suprise suprise but Rodriguez and Gina Moreno, they honestly felt misplaced for me and I couldn't get into their characters or anything involving them, and sorry but I didn't even think Moreno was eyecandy either. The Rock did a fantastic job too, like his other 3 films this year, he was the best thing about them, and even if I can't say the same I thought he was great. Walker was great also, delivering a charismatic and emotional peformance. Of course I gotta mention Diesel and I thought he did a very good job with the stuff provided.

For flaws, like I said the two lead actresses felt contrived for me. The film has some very annoying lines from Gibson, and has some overally repetitive scenes, and I thought the film dragged a bit in spots towards the beginning. But overall, this film was kick-ass popcorn entertainment, turn your brain off and enjoy it. Also imo almost as good as Fast Five!

Final Grade: 4/5

Friday, April 19, 2013

42 Written Review

42 is of course the film about inspiring baseball star Jackie Robinson here played by Chadwick Boseman and the film follows him on a course of playing different teams and dealing with all the criticism for being a black man in white baseball.

Now expectations wise, I was really looking foward to this film, I don't LOVE sports films, although I thought "Moneyball" was a perfect film, I just don't love them. But still I was really really impressed by the trailers. Everyone from it's Oscar winning writer/director to it's great cast including Boseman and Ford.

42 perfectly amounces it's portraying of the legendary Robinson. Boseman helps that too, delivering both a sad and believable peformance. He shows effection and you honestly don't want him to crack. He does very well as Robinson. Ford is also great, he didn't do as much as I thought he would, although he still did a great job. Everyone else was also good, the lady who played his wife was great too even if she did barely anything.

The script has flaws, but for the most part it was solid. Some plot wholes done in the script I thought could have been done without. But it does balance everything solidly. The script has some very well done humor, all I'm gonna say: Shower, just hysterical. It's cinematography is also great, from Robinson and the others sliding and going to bases was very well shot.

Overall, great peformances, direction, and cinematography also a great score, I got exactly what I wanted, raw emotion and a very well potrayed time period. I honestly started tearing up.

Final Grade: 4/5

Oblivion Written Review

Before we start this review I wanted to say through out this weekend or even tonight, I'll have written reviews for 42 and Trance after this. So stay tuned. Anyways Oblivion is the director of Tron Legacy's newest film and it stars Tom Cruise, Ogla Kurylenko, Morgan Freeman and others. The film follows Jack (Tom Cruise)who is a man on earth which had been destroyed in an alien vs human war, even if the humans won during the war Earth was destroyed so everyone left. But when Cruise is captured and told the truth, he wants to leave Earth and get where everyone else who was on Earth.

Oblivion is visually stunning and very well acted by Cruise, but it honestly could have been better, still an awesome experiance and solid film, just could have been better. It's biggest problem is on it's pacing, script side. It has a very unbelievable script that is full of lines that could have been deleted. Everything romance wise in the film too, just very uneeded. It also has weak pacing, it's a little over 2 hours and feels longer.

Both Tom Cruise & Morgan Freeman are great, both try and deliver. You feel for them too, they also have believable chemistry together. Everyone else was fine, but really Freeman and Cruise were the only ones that delivered something special. Kurylenko honestly annoyed me so so so much. She is just not a likeable actress in my opinion, and she wasn't believable.

One romance aspect moves it kind of without spoiling, but the whole "marriage" thing was totally forced and could have been left out. Overall, Oblivion has a great spectacle, an awesome peformance from Cruise and Freeman and some solid effects. I really liked it although, I wanted more.

Final Grade: 3.5/5

Wednesday, April 10, 2013

Elysium Trailer Review

Elysium is director Neill Blomkamp follow up to the 2009 hit alien invasion flick, Distrct 9. Elysium is the year 2154 and where most people are at Elysium, when Max (Matt Damon) who lives on Earth which is where "poor people" live, he must try to get to Elysium. Now being a huge fan of District 9 with even only seeing it once it came on TV, I've been wanting to see what director Blomkamp would do next. I heard a film called "Elysium" would be his follow up. So basically after seeing District 9 I said I trusted him into what he would do next. So I was desprate to see more footage for this film.

What I like most about the "Elysium" trailer is how it executes different worlds and beyond spectacularly. It's style of visuals and effects reminds me exactly of District 9. The feel, tone and visual spectacle. Even the picture for this trailer review I'm using reminds me of it. Anyways, it's visuals look cool yet very District 9 like. I can't tell if this has a $30 million budget like District 9 or not, I'll have to assume they're different. I assume w/ the visuals they have it's about say "Total Recall" 2012 budget b/c/ it looks more expensive. 

With who you do have involved this could be great along with Mr. Blomkamp directing it. I do admire the visuals, director and cast. But I honestly just couldn't love this trailer. It's badass with it's cool visuals and great cast/idea but I don't think it looks like a treat. Theres some scenes that honestly made me feel weird and didn't feel they needed to be there. Some scenes they showed of Earth made me feel strange, just I didn't think it was stylized or executed enough to be shown. I do admire Blomkamp for doing something new where he does 2 different worlds but honestly I don't like the feel as of now.

The hover crafts which might be stupid of me to talk about which are shown at 0:55 of the trailers that flew by above Matt Damon I gotta say kicked ass. I can't wait to see how they are used and how long they'll be shown. I do also want to mention the gadgets used in the trailers. They honestly reminded me a bit about Spy Kids 4 aka the Spy Kids shit pie. Even if that movie was terrible I think all the gadgets used were awesome. They bring back something from my childhood that makes me feel good.

The visuals and the costums are also something I'm excited to see. By the trailers thats what I'm most impressed by. It is an imaginitive spectacle with wildly awesome costums. It also reminds me of "Avatar" which I thought was an awesome movie. These people arn't CGI and they are not blue. But everything expensive wise like CGI/Visuals and costums look to be very cool. But they're was some uses of CGI that felt unbelievable. 1:35 - 1:36 in the trailer there is a car flipping over that looks unreal.

All in all, I'm still excited for this film since it's directed by the THE man who directed THE awesome film of 2009 District 9, and because the spectacle and the cast. Still solid trailer I just thought it could have been better.


Monday, April 8, 2013

The Place Beyond the Pines Written Review (No Spoilers)

Each year, there is one movie that you are literally dieing to see. Last year it was "The Dark Knight Rises" this year for me it was Derek Cianfrance's "The Place Beyond the Pines". Not only did it get phenomenally amazing reviews from TIFF and for 3 months straight have a 100% on Rotten Tomatoes. But the trailer for the film I watched was amazing.

The Place Beyond the Pines is a heartbreaking, emotional, investing and unforgettable masterpeice. When I first saw it I didn't love it. But I thought about it. I saw this film on Saturday, and I still have everything about it on my mind. 

As emotionally investing as the characters were, you would also need great actors to play them. You got that, Ryan Gosling, Eva Mendes, Ray Liotta, Bradley Cooper and Dan Dehaan. All of them are absolutely phenomenal. Ryan Gosling is raw and so involving, you feel very bad for what he gets into or how he reacts. His characters needs your emotions and Mr. Cianfrance did exactly that. Bradley Cooper who I loved in Silver Linings Playbook is even better here, just like Luke (Ryan Gosling) you need your emotions for Bradley's character Avery. You feel bad for him in his story-line. The main stand out was Bradley Cooper cause he was pretty much that main character and if you saw it you would know what I'm talking about. Gosling was fantastic but since Cooper's in it more I thought I got more involved w/ him and liked him more.

Everyone else was mostly solid. Mendes was great here, you want her to ----- what he is giving her or even offering. It's hard to talk about without spoiling. Ray Liotta is definitely good, but his character wasn't all that likeable he starts off kind of as a prick, and stays that way mostly. Dan Dehaan as Eva Mendes' son was just fucking great. He showed effection and heart. You really feel bad for what his character is going through. 

The screenplay for the most part is great. Some characters you meet along this wild adventure are obnoxiously written. Examples: Bradley Cooper's son and Ray Liotta. But other than that the screenplay is great. You get great clever lines that go just along with each scene captivating to something else.

Derek Cianfrance did of course a great job directing here. 3 stories that collide together so well, they honestly feel realistic and like you've seen something like it. Each of them are there for a point not just there to make it longer or make it more expensive. 

For flaws, some of the relshionships between different characters reacting and having conversations were not developed but some were very well executed. Bradley and his sons were just blandly done. The real life couple in this film Gosling & Mendes I honestly didn't have that much of development. Besides some flaws, The Place Beyond the Pines continues Cianfrance with more and more talent and more percent of becoming a bigger director. 

Overall, The Place Beyond the Pines is one you NEED to think about, but I still loved it on more thinking. Wasn't disappointed at all. Raw and emotional and is made for a point.

Final Grade- A-

Saturday, April 6, 2013

Evil Dead (2013) Written Review

Horror classics are rare, alot of the newer horror films these days suck. Some good ones like Sinister. But most like Smiley, House at the End of the Street and Texas Chainsaw 3D all suck. So I wanted a good new horror film. The trailers did it for me, they convinced me, I loved all the trailers for the film. I was just excited coming from a person who only saw the second one.

Evil Dead is the very well crafted, thoughtful and entertaining film that I wanted. It balances it's horror very well, you get some different kind of scenes on and on that I think helped it. The only thing left out was the humor, which when they're is humor it didn't work that will. The humor is unconvincing and lazy. It's not thought or planned just provoking cause you think "Thats nothing like the humor in the original" which I didn't see but I heard it was hilarious.

The script honestly might be one of it's stronger aspects, it has tense dialogue delivered when something scary is about to happen and they give you a line of dialogue that convinces you and suprises you with what happens. Same with the sountrack, when something creepy is coming they have sound effects that play off perfectly.

The acting is just balh, Jane Levy as Mia was just ehh. She's not awful here but she was just not convincing. The people who play David, Eric and Olivia are even less convincing. Everyone I've talked to said that they like the people who play Eric and David. I gotta be honest, I don't see why at all. Just no...

Newcomer, Fede Alvarez did a phenomenal job directing the film. He knew how he wanted everything to be placed and delivered. Everything he wanted to balance except the films contrived comedy was very well done.

Each scare is also done well. QUICK SPOILER LEAVE NOW!!! OR JUST LOOK DOWN FOR MY GRADE! You have the tree rape from the original which I can't get out of my mind. NO MORE SPOILERS..

Overall, Evil Dead delivered on everything I wanted it too. Great and well done blood and really cool scares. Loved this one guys.

Final Grade: A-

Monday, March 4, 2013

Room 237 Written Review (Early)

A man named "Rodney Ascher" decided to basically do a documentary on ideas/theories on the Stanely Kubrick's masterpeice "The Shining". I saw it just before I got to see this. And I love him for that, even if this isn't a great film.

The theories they show I honestly agreed w/ not all. But most are reasonable and very, well. The way these people have or think on theories is so cool. How they show and explain what they think is very passionate. You really belive most and how they show what they did was very well done. Tom Cruise appears in the first scene which which really suprised me. Anyways everything that you see here suprised me cause of how different each are.

So like I said most of the theories are explained and well thought. But they are alot of suprising people who come on which really got me excited. Even Nicole Kidman appeared. But everyone did good. I knew I would see different actors/actresses but not as many good people as I saw. How the films made also impressed me. How it was structured and belt.

So, is it anywhere near being as good as the Shining. Fucking hell no. But it kept my interest seeing everyones cool at least descent theories and people appear. I found my self entertained. And I would usually judge scripts, acting, direction, score, cinematography. But I still explained what I wanted too.

Grade: B-

Friday, February 15, 2013

Escape From Planet Earth Written Review

Every once in a while there's a animated film every one thinks looks stupid but I think it looks good. This is one of them. Just like last years for me was Ice Age 4 which ended up being god awful. But Escape From Planet Earth not only looked cool. But it looked like they took the Planet 51 premise and changed it when still making it better. I was a hater for Planet 51, just painful. And thankfully, Escape From Planet Earth is solid fun.

It's the type of animated film that does have some potty humor but it's all made better cause it's consistently cool tone and great voice cast. It's potty humor doesn't work I would say 30% of the time the potty humor works. But it still didn't effect the film much for me.

It's voice cast as I mentioned is pretty good. Besides Jessica Alba and Sarah Jessica Parker it's pretty good. Wait, Sofia Vergara is in it. She is underrated. Alba can be attractive but in this role and how she acts takes it all away. Brendan Fraser is damn good here. He has heart and his character is memorable. All the characters are pretty memorable and likeable.

It's script like I said can get a bit too cliche and have some forced humor. Is strong for the most part. I found my self laughing consistently through out. Which is what I wanted from this.

The animation is great. It's Disney animation tbh. It's depiction of an Alien planet is so well done. They do it pretty good considering how Planet 51 did it. Even if Planet 51 mostly took place on Earth which this movie is about Aliens trying to get off Planet Earth just like Planet 51. This has memorable characters and great animation unlike Planet 51. It also has a better voice cast.

It's direction from Cal Brunker can get a little off key and try to change but doesn't work. And it can get a bit too predictable. But he did ok for the most part. I did expect what happend to happen though. He did great with the animation and suprisingly the suspense.

Final Grade- B

Thursday, February 14, 2013

A Good Day to Die Hard Written Review

These are the old school action films I enjoy. So that will make my interest if I see a film like this one that has some to offer for old school action fans. A Good Day to Die Hard does deliver sometimes.

It's very fun to be honest. It has the thick and entertaining action that had my enjoyment tested. I was wondering through out if I liked it or not. At first I hated it, but by the end I enjoyed it. It's self aware and knows it's not the other Die Hard films (Which I have not seen) it is dumb, ridiculous and sometimes stupid. but it knows that. It's kind of like The Last Stand and Bullet to the Head, they're all stupid but they're fun.

It does have flaws. It's cinematography is really damn bad. But if you think about it, they have some really hard shots to film for sure towards the end. So I can't blame them. But they do have scenes of just John (Bruce Willis) sitting talking to someone and it's shaking and moving which pissed me off. 

It's script is also bad. It tries to accomplish what is does, and also some other things but doesn't. There's alot of scenes that this movie thought it was funny in but wasn't at all."Do you wanna hug?" "Were not the hugging family" "Your damn right" see!

It's direction is very lazy. It was very inconsistent on delivering fun action. The beginning 30-45 minutes are forced as fuck. The car chase, daughter, ect. That whole part effected it alot.

The chemistry is pretty solid. Bruce Willis and idk who the guy who played his son was but they had desent chemistry. But there was scenes of them trying to pull of family moments but didn't.

It's action entertained me, so did it's chemistry. And Bruce delivered a solid peformance. if you take away a' billions of flaws, A Good Day to Die Hard aka Die Hard 5 is enjoyable.

Final Grade- C+

I'm going C+ cause me and my dad had fun watching the movie but honestly the first 30 minutes of obnoxious behavior and ridiculous action and the unforgivable cinematography. But I'm saying in fun standpoints it would get a B but as a movie in standpoints of film making it would get C+. I enjoyed some of it but some of it sucked.  

Monday, February 11, 2013

Community Season 4 Ep.1 (History 101) Review

Community Season 4 Episode 1 History 101 is of course the 4th season beginning that will have 13 episodes. My friend intruduced me to this show. We had a party and watched a few episodes. And I simpily became addicted. I love this show and I've been watching ever sence. And from a fan, who couldn't wait for it to begin again. This episode was very disappointing. It does have some laughs from it's casts chemistry. But most of it is things from another episode basically switched around. Now as you can see alone from the picture I used. It's kind of a spoof of "The Hunger Games" except in the real episode it's different. It's a very weird way to start out.

Of course if your a fan of the show you know that everyone from Joel McHale, Gillian Jacobs, Danny Pudi, Yvette Nicole Brown, Alison Brie, Donald Glover, Jim Rash, Ken Jeong and Chevy Chase all have fantastic chemistry. If they were friends in real life is how they feel all together. Everyone here made all the laughs happen, for me all the jokes were forced and the only reason I laughed was cause of how they were delivered. They had all been at least editied from another episode. Cause it might just be me but I actually think some jokes have been in another episode. They're were aspects to like. But from a HUGE Community fan this History 101 episode was disappointing. It had solid chemistry and some clever stuff, just not done well imo.

I wanna go into some spoilers. I don't usually like to but I have to for some reason. It makes me feel better. RED ink will be spoilers.

So towards the beginning. Jeff wants to graduate early so he participates in the Hunger Deans. There's an old man he punches right in the face and a girl who has glasses and he takes her glasses. it was kind of rude but imo funny. Also the first scene two of the main characters walk in and one tries to look Hipster so he puts on glasses and a lady walks in and he says Take them off. That's the cliche humor. Also two of the main characters are in a foutain and wishing wishes and they start a fight; generic.

So I hope the next episode Paranormal Parentage will have more chances cause it's not preasure filled. Community fans; I really really really really really really really really really really really really really want the next episode to be better!

FYI: I like to rate TV shows like say out of 10 an 8.3 or 6.7 or 4.2 or something My Grade is...

TV Episode Grade- 5.9/10

Monday, February 4, 2013

Super Bowl Trailer Reviews

Each year, movie geeks watch the super bowl, like me; just to watch new movie trailers. For me, that's the only thing I watch the Super Bowls for. Today, I'll be reviewing some trailers that premiered during Super Bowl, the trailers; Iron Man 3, Star Trek: Into Darkness, Fast and Furious 6. Oz: The Great and Powerful, The Lone Ranger.

Iron Man 3

Iron Man 3 is the third Iron Man film. Of course. Anyways I knew they would make a third one it's no suprise. It's Iron Man. Robert Downey JR is like the owner of Iron Man. I wouldn't see a fourth one without him. But I was super hyped for a trailer and I got one and loved it. The new tv spot/trailer on the super bowl is just plain cool. You get kind of a feel where you want to know what happend. If you haven't watched the full one yet watch it. It's score you get to see in it's trailer is awesome. It fits the trailer perfectly. It's action and look of everything is cool. You get one action scene of RDJ aka Iron Man with some others in a plain and it has something happen to it and you see him saving people, cool. You get some old some new. Overall, from a standpoint of a superhero trailer/TV spot. I can't wait for this, it'll be epic.

Trailer Grade- 9.5/10
Star Trek: Into Darkness
Star Trek: Into Darkness is the newest Star Trek film titled Star Trek: Into Darkness. Now I haven't seen any of the Star Trek movies. I'll SEE THE 2009 film before this one. But still I was ecited to see a trailer for this. It's cast and JJ Abrams. That sold me from the start. Anyways, of what I've heard the films have fantastic visuals. I loved the hell out of this trailer. It looks awesome. You get some great, don, don, don kind of feel. With it's incredible visuals. Chris Pine who is probably one of the most underrated actors today, he's awesome (I enjoyed This Means War) anyways I think everything here looks epic. Can't wait. Most anticipated WIDE RELEASED film of 2013. NOT OF ALL FILMS!

Trailer Grade- 10/10
Fast and Furious 6

Fast and Furious 6 is the 6th installment in the Fast and Furious trilogy. Which the only one I've personally really liked it Fast Five. I also saw Tokyo Drift and the first one. I thought the first one was solid and pretty fun. But Tokyo Drift was just dull imo. But I love the cars, actors and alot of things that appear in the franchise. Mostly the cars. You have a mix of hot chicks, cars and awesome chases. That's what I like watching. I was actually really pumped for a trailer. Finally got it and I was really satisfyed. I got everything wanted, mindblowing action, cool cars, glances of cast and stmosphere. The cars, action and alot of things look cool. For sure in the top 10 most anticipated of 2013.

Trailer Grade- 9/10
The Lone Ranger
The Lone Ranger is the newest western film starring Johnny Depp and Army Hammer. Now before the trailers came out I was curious, really wanted to see something. I love Westerns. They're weird but cool. So we got 2 or 3 trailers and this. I really had fun watching it. The makeup/design and slt were really great. Interesting visuals, great cast and cool looking action scenes take it over. I had fun watching the trailer so yah I'm pumped. Looks pretty fun.
Trailer Grade- 8/10
Oz: The Great and Powerful

Now, when I heard they were making a new "Oz" film I was pissed the fuck off. Really? make a prequel type thing for a classic film that everyone loves. The cast was released I got a bit more curious. Still mad. And just the idea of it made me mad. I liked how they delt with the old first one. One of the best films ever made imo. I do admire the style/look/time period of it but I honestly lost interest once the trailer released. Theres kiddy jokes every where, w/ cgi animals and stuff that don't sound cool. Everyone is wasted with cliche gags and humor. James Franco as Oz will probably be good. So will everyone but I will take this out of my 20 most anticipated films of the year list. It has a chance of being ok. But for now it just looks mediocre. Great cgi feeling. But too much kitty and toliet humor.
Trailer Grade- 5.5/10

Saturday, February 2, 2013

Warm Bodies Written Review

Every once in a while there are films that take on old trilogies, this is lik Twilight. Except if you think about it; different kind of story. Here, they took the Twilight universe and switched it all around. They replaced awful actors and directors (imo none of the three Twilight stars have had good movies lately. Wasn't a fan of Abduction, Snow White and the Huntsman or Cosmopolis) But they had zombies instead of the typical were-wolfs and vampires. They also add other genres that mix in together way better than Twilight does. You have romance, comedy, drama and even action here.

Warm Bodies is a film i was actually really anticipating. It had some strong trailers and I heard the director was great. So that got me even more excited. It had a feel and look to it that had me going wow. In that expression cause was cause of the make-up and design, also it looked nothing like Twilight.

It does drag alot (35-40%) and have some pretty underdeveloped charactes, and the blend of genres don't ALWAYS work. But it has humor, romance and action that saves it. It's romance pretty much held it down the most. They're are some sweet moments but other than that the romance held it down. It goes over the top in blood and action that doesn't fully mach up or colide into anything it could have. It's strong geared trigger with some very polited humor that had me laughing. But also had me confused. I didn't know what it wanted to be. What is it, a comedy, action, horror or romance. It's a drama/romance.

It does come off as a horror film at times but really really doesn't work. Like I said the tone was to inconsistent to fully mix and blend all the genre's it want's too. It does go well in together. Just not in an interesting way.

It's runtime honestly mislead me. It had alot of fun moments. With blendy horror/action scenes that had me entertained. But also the first 30 minutes were just too dull. It's first act if just porrly written. Then it started to pick up a bit. But when R is holding Julie (She thinks he's keeping her safe) thoose scenes where there just on the plane were kind of boring. And ik it's a romance film but the romance bogged it down the most.

It's peformances are pretty great. Hoult as R is pretty good. He feels emotional and understanding. You want him to start dating Julie. Which is very predictable (thats all I'll say). I think I'm the only one who thought Palmer (Julie) was fucking annoying. I mean R saves her from dieing and she is acting like a bitch. She might be scared but what?

It's script is also strong. It had me entertained (For half the time) not just laughing and with drama but with heart and really fun action. For the most part the script is consistent. The cinematography honeslty bothered me. It felt contrived and jarring. It didn't work. You get some really weird and pointless camera angles. Also when R and Julie are running it's in a weird angle.

Overall, Warm Bodies does drag awfully alot, with predictabilty, romance and drama. But it's saved by it's working direction, acting, and script. I had fun with Warm Bodies. I just think it's overrated and disappointing.

Final Grade- B

Saturday, January 26, 2013

Parker Written Review

Statham is great. But when it comes to him choosing movies he might be just ok. He picks inconsistently. He was good in Expendables 2 which was the first movie I reviewed on here. I didn't see Killer Elite. and Safe was just mediocre. So you know I trust him (for the most part)

Parker follows a master robber who has a team and they trade him. Once he finds out they're planning a huge new robbery he decides to stop them. He meets a lady played by Jennifer Lopez and they decide to team up.

Now I was mixed with expectations on this. Part of me trusted Statham and part didn't. Like I said he can be a bit inconsistent. But I still see his new films. And I'm sad to say this movie is just bad.

Parker is a very generic, predictable and unsatisfying film. The thing holding it down the most is it's very very predictable plot. By reading the story on IMDB and you'll know what happens. And it doesn't help when the first scene in the trailer starts out the movie. It's just painfully predictable and for that makes it kind of hard to watch. It goes from a very bloody film to an unsatisfying love story at spots which I found hard to calculate and understand. What does it want to be? It's love story which is very predictable is very easy to see coming. And it's now interesting.

The script is also very tonely confused. it has a very inconsistent tone. The script has 3 elements, love. action. and and jokes. They don't belond together here. They don't mashup well. It tries to make you laugh, but simpily, fails. They're plenty of jokes thrown at you and only a few hit atleast solidly. The tone which I said was confusing makes it's pretty satisfying action to an unsatisfying action. Which may not make to much sence but the action is good but by the end it's totally wasted on other thing. It's direction is also confused and unfocused. It really doesn't go anywhere. It just 3 simple things the whole time Love, Action, Jokes. The only one I found interesting was it's action. But like I said is just unsatisfying by the end.

The acting for the most part holds on strong. As always, even if he's in a bad movie, Statham is always good. He held most of the movie together from being a complete bore and mess. Jennifer Lopez who is suprisingly really solid here. She has desent chemistry with Jason. But they're chemistry when they first meet is just kind of lazy, like they don't wanna work together. Then towards the middle they think they're chemistry is a joke. then towards the end is love. Which I wouldn't call a spoiler cause it's predictable. And that ending was very confusing!

Overall, Parker has fun action, but it's bogged down by incredibly lazy direction, mediocre chemistry, contrived camera work, and sometimes underdeveloped characters. I'm giving it a strong....

Final Grade- C+

Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters Written Review

They're are fairy tales that get made into movies, but not much when they're getting made about witch hunting. Everyonce in-a-while they're are films made like this and Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter and they're usually one solid one and one bad one. If I put Hansel and Gretel Witch Hunters into one it would be solid.
Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters follows Hansel (Jeremy Renner) and Gretel (Gemma A.) and they're kids who get left by the parents. And they take down a witch like two bad asses. 15 years later they're witch hunters. They are choosen to try and save these kids back from evil witches.

Now I was believe it or not but really really really looking foward to it cause I usually love movies like this. Like I should've liked Abe Lincoln: Vampire Hunter but I didn't. Anyways it was one of my most anticipated films of the year. I'm really glad to say I loved it.

Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters offers stylized and epic violence, a great storyline which forms into a film that has everything you need in a movie like this. It's violence is executed very well and how they plan it is just so well done. It has alot of gore and over-the-top-violence which I found to be cool. It's script for the most part imo is strong. I found my self consistently laughing and always entertained with everything in detail going on. They're were alot of scenes towards the 3rd act that I was laughing my ass off.
 "We have to save Edward" -Gretel
"Who the fuck is Edward?" -Hansel
that line had me laughing so hard.

It also has a bit of an inconsistent tone that I found kind of frustrating at points on end. It was horror mixed with comedy kind of like Dark Shadows except this didn't fail. I did think the mixed in together well but I think it could have been a bit more inconsistent. Also the witches in this movie are well done, the makeup, and everything. They might be not scary but they were well done. They sometimes do stupid things that made ma laugh. It also has a pretty solid script imo. Also, alot of people are nitpicking the cinematography, I thought it was actually very well shot. They get some really cool shots. They're are scenes that had kind of jarring camera work but for about 80% of the time I thought the cinematography was great tbh.

Overall, Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters offers on cool over the top violence, and some of the best chemistry in a long time. Great deal of fun.

Final Grade- B+

Friday, January 25, 2013

Broken City Written Review

A duo like Crowe and Wahlberg should make atleast a desent film. And when I first saw it I thought it was "desent". But the more I simpily look at something about it or talk about it the more I dislike it.

Broken City follows ex cop (Mark Wahlberg) who is hired by the mayer (Russel Crowe) to sneak out and spy on his wife (Cathrine Zeta Jones) and soon he finds out he wasn't really hired for that, it was something else!
Now I was really really never looking foward to Broken City. At first I was cause I loved the cast. But simpily when the trailers came out I got less excited. I just wasn't a fan of the trailers. And I'm really sad to say I'm starting to hate it honestly. It is one of the most annoying, generic, dull and uninteresting movies in a long time. They're were plenty and plenty of scenes where I was rolling my eyes cause of how bored, uninteresting and stupid they were. There's a side plot about Mark Wahlberg's girlfriend has here premiere of her new fucking porn type movie that a damn indie and they get in a fight at a bar that I was laughing so hard at. It was so uninteresting and porrly written.

Of coarse the duo is good. Wahlberg and Crowe do have a slightly interesting friendship shown. They have great chemistry together, which made some of the movie fun to watch. But all the good stuff is just bogged down by it's incredibly uninteresting and ridiculously serious and dull script. The movie thinks it's briliant at times. But is lame for it's own good. The script is what held it down the most for me. It tries to make you laugh; but fails. It tries to keep you entertained; but fails.

Broken City is an uninteresting, messey, corny, dull and sortof awful filf that has jarring direction and cinematography, a rough plot and pacing. With some terribley uninteresting script. And it's laughable dialogue. I really didn't like Broken City.

Final Grade: C-

The Last Stand Written Review

Arnold is a classic action hero. Everytime you hear he's gonna be in a movie it's already in your most anticipated for the year. He is my favorite action here. I don't know about you but he's mine!

The Last Stand follows a cop (Arnold Schwarzengger) who is hired to stop a man who is holding one of his employes in hostage, and the more he finds out about it the more he gets involved in it.
Now like I said "everytime you hear Arnold's gonna be in a movie it's already one of your most anticipated films of the year" and in this case even if I didn't think the trailers were that great, it was still one of my most anticipated films of the year.

Now, I really liked The Last Stand. The thing that made me enjoy it as much as I did was it's not-so-serious tone. It is very consistent and the same through out. Which I thought made it take it's self goofy like. Kind of not so serious. It was really executed well. It's bounces well with blood and violence then comedy. It balances so well and towards the last act for sure. The last act had me laughing very consistently and kept me entertained the whole way through.

The direction for the most part in my opinion is kind of briliant. How the director balances everything here so well makes me wanna smile. It has a prefect balance of charatcer, action, comedy, tone and cinematography. It has some of the most twisty and fun roots it takes you through that is done really well. The cinematoraphy is really well done too they get some great shots that were really impressive.

The script for the most part works. Like I said everything here is well done. And calculates in a normal fasion of old stylized films that have everything The Last Stand has. It has old classic humor that was funny. An action thriller with hilarious humor! there was action and comedy in one and belt so well.
Overall, The Last Stand has everything an 80's alike action movie should have. And I kind of loved it for that.

Final Grade- B+

Thursday, January 17, 2013

Django Unchained Written Review

Quetin Tarantino makes history of film that brings people to sides and most of each side loves his masterpeices. Tarantino is a talented and gifted human being who thinks of making some of the best movies out there. His movies don't only conclude of histroy,,, but of entertainment.

Django Unchained follows a slave named Django aka Jango if you don't count the silent D. He's bought by a bounty hunter played by Christoph Waltz, so basically Christoph Waltz character tries to help Django (Jamie Foxx) try and get his slaved wife (Kerry Washington) back from Calvin Candie (Leonardo DiCaprio)

Now I was dieing to see Django Unchained. it was my second most anticipated film of the fall 2012. It not only had great trailers and a great assembled cast and director. But it is from QUENTIN TARANTINO!!! Tarantino has made my favorite film of all time Inglorious Basterds and made my 6th favorite too PUlP FICTION and he made my 16th favorite film of all time RESERVOIR DOGS and he made Kill Bill Volume 1/2 which I still need to see and Jackie Brown which I also need to see and last but not least Death Proof. Which I might see.

Django Unchained is a masterfully directed, skyhigh batch of entertainment. Which might sound weird. My point is I loved Django Unchained.

Django Unchained has one of the best screenplays I've seen in a long time. It has some of the funniest and clever jokes and entertaining and slick action. It is a 2 hour 45 minute movie that honestly felt like 30 minutes. It does drag a few times but blah

It has Tarantino's touch that movies don't have humor, violence and gross out peformances. Jamie Foxx kicked complete ass as the main character that is "Django, the D is silent" Leonardo DiCaprio is good here but honestly his peformance was a bit overrated. His character is the genaric villian. Christoph Waltz is also fantastic. He has funny lines of witty dialogue and action packed scenes of eye poping stuff. Samuel L. Jackson is hilarious. He has some very raunchy lines theres one where he says.
"Give my the strength to kill this ------!" that will offend people but I gotta say it was funny.

The cinematography was great, The end action scene was hilarious and awesome. It had moments where I was on the edge of my seat and my eyes never came off the screen

Overall, Django Unchained has witty, suspense, clever, and brilliant scenes off direction, acting, screenplay, hilarity, and insueing action and it's everything I wanted from Django Unchained and that makes it........... THE BEST FILM OF 2012!!!!

Final Grade- A

Zero Dark Thirty Movie Review

I know it's been a while... December 22 was my last post. I've decided to give you guys reviews for 2 movies I loved and they're my 2 favorites of 2012. This is Zero Dark Thirty and next Django Unchained. I have seen others like Texas Chainsaw 3D, Gangster Squad, A Haunted House, The Impossible, Parental Guidance, This is 40, Jack Reacher, and throughout this month I'll right reviews for all of thoose movies. For today, Zero Dark Thirty and Django Unchained!
Once in a film period theres a director who takes on tragedies and sometimes manage to get use of them and turn them into cinematic hitory. This time around it was Kathrine Bigelow took on the tragic and sad 9/11 attack. With Zero Dark Thirty. I was not dieing to see it. I usually dislike movies like this. But I honestly, I loved this movie.

Zero Dark Thirty follows Maya, a lady who leads the 10 year manhunt of Osama Bin Laden after the tragic 911 attach. That's really the story. But like I said I don't usually like movies like this. But Kathrine Bigelow knows how to make cinema history. She inplants such smart and interesting quirk that builds up in suspense, brilliant, and epic amount of ways that lead up to movies like this.

Zero Dark Thirty has a briliant script. They're were scenes that had me interested and on the edge of my seat. With scenes that had very homage and likeable characters and situlations happening. It has it's moments of laughter and tense scenes.

It has a storytelling that you would want. It's a tragedy that was sad and It had me wondering. (why, why?) and it built up to a structure that never gets too ridiculous and makes you ask whats it going for?

It has some of the best peformances ever. It has suspensfully directed scenes and by that I mean Bigelows direction had me on the edge of my seat. Jessica Chastain is fantastic here. She's talented, layered and great. She is one of the most likeable actresses out there and I sure do hope she wins Best Female Peformance at the academy... which I think she will.

Overall, Zero Dark Thirty is tense, suspensful, edgy, masterfully made that is a part of cinema history and will be talked about in 25 years from now. It's my second favorite film of 2012 behind the next reviewed movie I'll do....

Final Grade- A